Body Positive Diet Blog

How to Love the Body You Have While Working Towards Better Health

Lipotropic Injections

on September 6, 2012

Last week I went to this “weight loss center” (I’ll get to why it’s in quotes in a second) by my house that I found by googling “lipotropic injections.” Lately I’ve been hearing a lot about these injections. They are a blend of vitamins B12, B6 and some nutrients that are supposed to burn fat, by helping the liver  process fat.

I’ve gotten vitamin B12/B6 injections before, and can definitely attest to the energy boost they give. I am a vegetarian and it’s harder to get B vitamins without eating meat. I couldn’t find any information online about the side effects of adding lipotropic agents to the shots, so I decided to go for it.

The place I went to was pretty shady, though. First of all, I had to make an appointment two weeks in advance because they said I needed a doctor’s consultation. Fair enough I thought. Except when I finally went in for the appointment, my consultation wasn’t with a doctor, it was with a physician’s assistant. And all she tried to do was up-sell me.

They didn’t take my blood pressure or even weigh me. They just tried to sell me shit, then had me pull down my pants so they could give me a shot in the butt.

I wasn’t expecting much from the place, because their Yelp reviews weren’t great, but the price was right (4 lipotropic injections for $100).

That was a week ago, though, and I have felt absolutely no effect. When I got the vitamin B12/B6 shot by itself I felt a noticeable uptake in energy. Also when I got the straight vitamin injections, the vitamin B6 kind of stings and then hurts for a couple of hours, but I felt nothing like that from this injection. Rereading the bad yelp reviews, I’m wondering if these injections were watered down.

Has anyone ever used lipotropic injections? I’d be curious to hear some of your stories.


Leave a comment